Which drivers require a certificate of fitness to drive?

A certificate of fitness to drive is a written statement proving that a driver is physically and mentally fit to drive a motor vehicle. The certificate allows the driver to obtain an adapted driving licence. Who needs a certificate of fitness to drive and how does the application work?

We make a distinction between two groups of drivers.

  • Group 1 includes drivers of motorcycles and passenger cars (licence categories AM, A1, A2, A, B, B+E, and G).
  • Group 2 includes drivers of trucks and buses (licence categories C, C+E, D, and D+E and subcategories C1, C1+E, D1, and D1+E) and drivers holding A1, A2, A, B, and B+E licences who have one of the following jobs:
    • taxi driver
    • driver for rental services of vehicles with driver
    • the transport of persons by ambulance
    • paid student transport
    • driving school instructor

Group 2: always mandatory

A certificate of fitness to drive is mandatory for all group 2 drivers. In order to obtain a certificate, these drivers must undergo a medical examination by an approved physician. The examination is subject to strict rules and may only be carried out by specific doctors.

But just having a certificate is not enough. The driver may not drive on the road until they have had the certificate of fitness to drive converted into a driving licence valid for a maximum of five years. Once this period has elapsed, the driver must undergo a new medical examination and apply for a new driving licence from the municipality.

It is the driver’s responsibility to obtain the certificate. Mensura monitors the expiry date for its clients, so that we can inform employers in good time that an employee needs to be re-examined. Drivers belonging to group 2 can undergo a medical examination by an accredited physician at one of our consultation centres.

Group 1: mandatory in case of health problems

In group 1, certain drivers with health problems must be able to present a certificate of fitness to drive. After all, certain conditions increase the risk of an accident. This is the case for, among others:

  • depression
  • dementia
  • diabetes
  • eye diseases
  • balance disorders, dizziness
  • epilepsy
  • heart diseases
  • medication use
  • kidney or liver diseases
  • loss of strength
  • pacemaker or other implants

The complete list of minimum medical standards (.pdf) to be able to drive a vehicle safely is laid down by law.

Group 1 drivers are personally responsible for obtaining their certificate of fitness to drive and for applying for and renewing the adapted driving licence. They can contact their attending physician for the certificate. Usually this certificate – and therefore the driving licence – has a limited period of validity.